ufc on fox

2012 Year in Review: Fighter of the Year


Another memorable year in mixed martial arts is in the books, so it's time for The MMA Manifesto to hand out its coveted year-end awards.  Next up: Fighter of the Year.

Voting panel: Jeff Fox from The MMA Manifesto,  Dave Kelsey – 2011 MMA Manifesto Pick 'Em Contest Champion, speeds - Sports Two MMA ForumThe MMA Manifesto contributor Dan Brown, and Dan Vreeland from The MMA Manifesto and PrelimPicker.

Cain Velasquez
Record in 2012: 
2-0 (W-dos Santos, W-Silva)

What a difference a year can make.  Cain Velasquez was our Fighter of the Year in 2010, doing the unthinkable – knocking out Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira then bullying the ultimate bully, Brock Lesnar, to take the UFC heavyweight strap.  What a difference a year can make.  In 2011 Velasquez only stepped into the Octagon once, and that was to be humiliated on the UFC's debut on Fox, getting KO'd by Junior dos Santos and losing his title in the process.  What a difference a year can make.  2012 saw Velasquez back to his old steamrolling ways, bathing in Giant Silva's blood, then totally dominating dos Santos to grab back his title and make the above photo accurate again.  What a difference a year (and a healthy knee) can make.   


Others receiving votes:

Jon Jones
Benson Henderson


Past Winners:

2011: Jon Jones
2010: Cain Velasquez
2009: Georges St-Pierre


2012 Year in Review:

Submission of the Year
Knockout of the Year
Fight of the Year



About Jeff Fox

Jeff Fox is Mr. Manifesto - the Supreme Leader and evil mind behind The Hoops Manifesto & The MMA Manifesto